Quick Notes on The X Factor | Live Show 3

October 25, 2009

I just caught the latest episode of The X Factor and let me tell you… Big Band is still my least favorite theme for these singing competitions. This week the remaining contestant’s did fair well, except John & Edward, but there is no surprise there. Also this week we see the return of judge and mentor of the groups: Louis Walsh, damn! (I’m not a fan and furthermore I feel nothing that that man says during this show should be taken seriously). I haven’t got to see the results/the results show yet here in the US but here are my quick notes for this week…

  • Lucie Jones was easily the greatest of the night. It was a beautiful performance (both visually and vocally) and possibly the highlight of this season so far. Here is her beautiful performance of ‘My Funny Little Valentine‘…
  • Olly Murs was my second favorite of the night. He did a fantastic performance of ‘Bewitched’. While it wasn’t as stunning as last weeks show, Olly is definitely one to watch in this competition and I think he’ll go very far. I’m a bit infatuated with this man.
  • Lloyd Daniels did a good performance of ‘Fly Me To Moon’ and I thought it was his best out of the three live shows. Though I think that every time he sung the word “on” in the song it came out terrible. The backflip was a little unnecessary and I agree with the judges when they said they he lacked confidence, especially in the first half of the song. I can’t wait to see the next live show because I know he’ll be there and he just keep improving.
  • Rachel Adedeji is probably going to be in the bottom again… and I think it will be no surprise given her track record and that last performance. She went a bit (well more than a bit) crazy in her post-performance bit.
  • Joining Rachel in my guesses for the bottom would be Miss Frank and John & Edward. I really didn’t care for either’s performance and I don’t think they will make it anywhere near the finals. Frankly I don’t care to watch anymore of them.
  • I think Joseph McElderry is cute as hell, but I really don’t like his voice. Might be a preference thing cos it seems I’m the only one who doesn’t. I didn’t think his version of ‘Sway’ was sexy in the least bit, or good. All in all not a very good pick of song, in my opinion.
  • I don’t get why Danyl is perceived to be this amazing performer, I think he is just boring. Same goes for Jamie, and I actually agree with Louis about him not even doing a big band song this week, he did U2! Lame on all accounts, the both of them.
  • Stacy Soloman. Well done, not as good as last week, the vocals were a bit eh, but Lucie did kind of overshadow you in the whole pretty-dress-slow-number-at-the-mic kind of affair. Still love you though!

By the time I’ve finished this the result will have been given out, I think. I wonder what is going to happen and what the theme next week is!

One Response to “Quick Notes on The X Factor | Live Show 3”

  1. sherby57 Says:

    I’m intrigued to see what you think of the very interesting results show! I thought that Rachel was one of the strongest acts this week, but I definitely agree with you about Joe.

    My thoughts on this week (including the results) are here: http://poursomegravyonme.co.uk/2009/10/26/the-x-factor-finals-week-3/

    Next week’s theme is Rock Week!


Leave a Reply

