Kris Allen is the new American Idol and I’m all smiles inside about it.

May 21, 2009

Last night Kris Allen was crowned American Idol (for those of you who may of not heard). It was a surprising victory for the competition’s “dark horse”, but it is one that is well deserved. I’ve been an avid Kris Allen fan since the moment I heard him sing ‘Man In The Mirror’, it was so beautifully sung and just the kind of artist I would of loved to see get a record deal. Week after week Kris blew me away with wonderful artistic renditions of some of the greatest songs. My personal favorites were: ‘Make You Feel My Love’, ‘Falling Slowly’, and ‘She Works Hard For The Money’. During the top 2 performances Kris had sure proved that he deserved the crown right from the moment he began his outstanding performance of ‘Ain’t No Sunshine’. I have to say that I’m really not very fond of the winner’s song written by Kara. It is a bit horrid.

Now I know the omnipresent Adam Lambert fan base is in a great deal of shock and are, for the most part, upset about the outcome. I agree Adam is wildly talented and will surely go far in the music industry, but I feel that it was really the preference for Kris Allen’s musical stylings that won him the vote. I fell in love with his sweet enchanting voice. I’m personally not a fan of Adam genre of music, nor I didn’t feel that it is contemporary enough to beat out Kris. I’m already sick of hearing about how Kris’ win was a huge upset after near 100 million people voted. They both made it all the way to the top 2, that’s something  great right there! People are blaming homophobia and what not, but Adam made it all the way to the top 2 and yeah he was also deserving of the crown, but that’s not how it played out. Let it go and we can go on enjoying both artists because they are only gonna get bigger.

In final words I’m truly happy that Kris Allen won, after making his way all the way to the top despite the Judge’s hardcore beliefs the top would be Adam and Gokey. And I can’t wait to get past that winner’s song and buy Kris Allen’s debut CD.

Leave a Reply

